Wednesday, October 27th, 2021

Washington University (Mo.) Holds Lead in Final Winter 2011-12 Division III Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup Standings; NESCAC Places Four Institutions in the Top 10

CLEVELAND – Washington University (Mo.) holds its spot in first place with 693.50 total points in the final winter 2011-12 Division III Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup standings. The Bears finished 25th in women’s swimming & diving, 17th in both men’s and women’s basketball and 41st in men’s swimming and diving to close out the winter with 321.50 points.

Middlebury (VT.) is in second place with 676.00 total points. The Panthers placed fifth in women’s ice hockey, ninth in men’s basketball and in national collegiate skiing and 26th in women’s swimming.

Leaping from 16th place to third is Amherst (Mass.) with 654.75 total points. The Lord Jeffs finished third in men’s ice hockey, fourth in women’s basketball, fifth in women’s ice hockey, sixth in men’s swimming & diving, ninth in men’s basketball and 13th in women’s swimming & diving.

The Engineers from Massachusetts Institute of Technology sit in fourth place with 542.75 total points. MIT finished third in men’s basketball, fourth in men’s swimming & diving, eighth in women’s swimming & diving and 24th in national collegiate fencing.

Wisconsin Whitewater rounds out the top five with 532.50 total points. The Warhawks captured the men’s basketball national championship and finished 33rd in women’s basketball.

The New England Small College Athletic Conference has four institutions in the top 10. Following second place Middlebury (Vt.) is Amherst (Mass.) in third, Williams (Mass.) in sixth and Tufts (Mass.) in 10th.

To date, all winter NCAA championships have been completed with the following institutions capturing titles: men’s track & field – North Central (Ill.); women’s track & field – Wartburg (Iowa); wrestling – Wartburg (Iowa); men’s swimming & diving – Denison (Ohio); women’s swimming & diving – Emory (Ga.); men’s basketball – Wisconsin Whitewater; women’s basketball – Illinois Wesleyan; men’s ice hockey – St. Norbert (Wis.); women’s ice hockey – RIT (N.Y.)

The Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution’s finish in up to 18 sports — nine women’s and nine men’s.

The first spring Division III standings will be published May 24.

Please note, standings published midseason are unofficial. Official standings will be published upon the completion of the spring season. Complete standings and the scoring structure can be found on NACDA’s website at In addition, please visit, like us on Facebook at or follow us on Twitter @lsdirectorscup.

About Learfield Sports: The 2011-12 athletics season marks its fourth year as title partner of the Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup. A preeminent leader in the collegiate sports marketplace for nearly four decades, Learfield Sports manages the multimedia rights for more than 50 collegiate properties, including flagship Mizzou, which it has represented since 1975. An operating unit of Learfield Communications, the company also operates regional and statewide radio networks, provides exclusive sports programming to more than 1,000 radio stations nationwide and creates nearly 7,000 radio game broadcasts and coaches’ shows each year. These ever-expanding, collegiate relationships also feature comprehensive corporate sponsorship platforms, official university publications, Internet, digital media, hospitality and game-day events. To learn more about Learfield Sports’ expertise, its history and complete collegiate portfolio, visit

Comments are closed.