Sunday, October 17th, 2021

Middlebury captures first Div III Cup

Middlebury (Vt.) Captures First Division III Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup

CLEVELAND – Middlebury (Vt.) has captured the 2011-12 Division III Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup title, finishing the year with 1040.75 points. The Panthers scored in the maximum 18 sports, including two second place finishes in women’s cross country and women’s field hockey, a third place finish in women’s lacrosse and a ninth place finish in women’s tennis.

Middlebury will be honored at the 2012 NACDA Convention during the Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup luncheon sponsored by Ticketmaster, on Tuesday, June 26.

Washington (Mo.) finished in second place with 980.25 total points, its highest finish since 2007-08, when it also finished runner-up. The Bears scored in 17 sports and captured the national championship in women’s cross country, finished third in men’s cross country and women’s indoor track & field, fourth in men’s tennis, fifth in women’s soccer and sixth in women’s outdoor track & field.

Ending in third place is Williams (Mass.) with 964.50 total points. The Ephs scored in 13 sports and captured both the women’s rowing and women’s tennis national championships. Williams had captured 15 of 16 Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup titles, including 13 straight through last year.

Amherst (Mass.) finished in fourth place with 950.75 total points. The Lord Jeffs scored in 16 sports with their highest finish coming in third place in men’s ice hockey. This is the 13th time in 17 years that Amherst has finished in the top 10 of the standings.

Rounding out the top five is Wisconsin-Whitewater with 815.50 total points. The Warhawks scored in 14 sports and claimed both the football and men’s basketball national championships. This is Wisconsin-Whitewater’s first top five finish in the Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup.

The New England Small College Athletic Conference has four institutions in the top 10. Following first place Middlebury (Vt.) is Williams (Mass.) in third, Amherst (Mass.) in fourth and Tufts (Mass.) in seventh.

The following institutions captured spring national titles: baseball – Marietta (Ohio); women’s track & field – Wartburg (Iowa); Men’s outdoor track & field – McMurray (Tex.); women’s rowing – Williams (Mass.); men’s lacrosse – Salisbury (Md.); men’s tennis – Emory (Ga.); women’s tennis – Williams (Mass.); women’s golf – Methodist (N.C.); men’s golf – Ogelthorpe (Ga.); women’s lacrosse – Trinity (Conn.); softball – Pacific Lutheran (Wash.); men’s volleyball – Springfield (Mass.).

The Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution’s finish in up to 18 sports — nine women’s and nine men’s.

Download News Release (PDF)

Comments are closed.