Tuesday, September 29th, 2020

Williams Holds Lead in Final Winter Division III #LSDC Standings

CLEVELAND (April 11, 2013) – Williams (MA) maintained the top spot in the final winter Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup standings with a combined total of 785.75 points. The Ephs finished third in women’s basketball, fourth in women’s swimming and diving, fifth in men’s basketball, seventh in women’s track and field, eighth in men’s swimming and diving, 12th in skiing, 24th in wrestling and 45th in men’s track and field.

Middlebury (VT) is in second with 665.75 total points, finishing second in women’s ice hockey, fifth in men’s basketball, 10th in skiing, 15th in women’s track and field, 32nd in women’s swimming and diving and 37th in men’s swimming and diving.

Emory (GA) is in third with 635.75 points, after claiming the national title in women’s swimming and diving, fifth place in men’s swimming and diving, ninth in women’s basketball and track and field and 17th in men’s basketball.

In fourth is Johns Hopkins (MD) with 564.50 total points, including a fourth place finish in men’s swimming and diving, a fifth place finish in women’s swimming and diving and a 21st place finish in wrestling and women’s track and field.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology climbed into the top five with 549.75 overall points after a third place finish in men’s swimming and diving, eighth in women’s swimming and diving, 13th in women’s track and field, 17th in fencing, 33rd in men’s basketball and 45th in men’s track and field.

The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) has three institutions in the top 10 of the standings – Williams (1st), Middlebury (2nd) and Amherst (8th).

Nine of the winter NCAA championships have been completed with the following institutions capturing titles: women’s indoor track and field – WI Oshkosh; men’s indoor track and field – WI La Crosse; women’s basketball – DePauw; women’s ice hockey – Elmira; men’s ice hockey – WI Eau Claire; women’s swimming and diving – Emory; men’s swimming and diving – Kenyon; men’s wrestling – Wartburg; men’s basketball – Amherst.

The Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution’s finish in up to 18 sports — nine women’s and nine men’s.

The first Division III spring standings will be released Thursday, May 23.

Please note, standings published midseason are unofficial. Official standings will be published upon the completion of the spring season. Complete standings and the scoring structure can be found on NACDA’s website at www.directorscup.org. In addition, please visit www.thedirectorscup.com, like us on Facebook at facebook.com/lsdirectorscup or follow us on Twitter @lsdirectorscup.

About Learfield Sports: A preeminent leader in the collegiate sports marketplace for 40 years, the company has titled the acclaimed Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup for five consecutive years. Learfield Sports manages the multimedia rights for more than 50 collegiate institutions, conferences and associations, and is deeply integrated in collegiate ticket sales. The company’s multimedia rights encompass numerous content distribution platforms to deliver the passion of college athletics across radio, television and digital networks to fans globally. Today, Learfield Sports’ exclusive sports programming reaches more than 50 million television households nationally and delivers nearly 17,000 hours of radio programming on more than 1,000 radio stations. To learn more its history and collegiate portfolio, visit www.learfieldsports.com.

Comments are closed.