Sunday, October 17th, 2021

Stanford Wins 2012-13 Division I #LSDC; Final Standings Released after World Series

CLEVELAND (June 14, 2013) – With the final standings set to be released after the baseball College World Series, the winner of the 2012-13 Division I Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup Standings has been determined. In the closest race to date, Stanford captured its 19th straight title with 1261.25 total points, just 41.50 points ahead of second place Florida. The Cardinal captured the women’s tennis title. The Cardinal had four scores omitted due to the maximum 10 allowed for both women’s and men’s sports – women’s field hockey, women’s lacrosse, women’s rowing and softball.

Stanford will be honored at the 2013 NACDA Convention during the Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup luncheon sponsored by the United States Olympic Committee today.

Florida leaped to second with 1219.75 total points. Overall, the Gators tied for the men’s outdoor track and field title and captured the women’s gymnastics championship. The Gators had one score omitted due to the maximum 10 allowed for both women’s and men’s sports – women’s cross country.

Michigan fell to third in the standings and has 1138.25 total points. The Wolverines took home both the men’s gymnastics and men’s swimming titles during the year. Michigan had two scores omitted due to the maximum 10 allowed for both women’s and men’s sports – women’s field hockey and women’s outdoor track and field.

UCLA climbed into fourth place with 1127.25 total points. To date, the Bruins have two runner-up finishes, men’s water polo and men’s tennis. The Bruins had two scores omitted due to the maximum 10 allowed for both women’s and men’s sports – women’s basketball and softball.

Penn State dropped to fifth place with 1100.00 total points. The Nittany Lions finished 14th in men’s track and field and 29th in women’s track and field.

The SEC now leads all conferences with three institutions in the top 10 – Florida (2nd), Texas A&M (6th) and Georgia (9th).

12 of 13 NCAA spring championships have been completed with the following institutions capturing titles: men’s golf – Alabama; women’s rowing – Ohio State; softball – Oklahoma; women’s track and field – Kansas; and men’s track and field – Florida.

The Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution’s finish in up to 20 sports — 10 women’s and 10 men’s.

The final Division I spring standings will be released after the College World Series.
Please note, standings published midseason are unofficial. Official standings will be published upon the completion of the spring season.
Complete standings and the scoring structure can be found on NACDA’s website at In addition, please visit, like us on Facebook at or follow us on Twitter @lsdirectorscup.

About Learfield Sports: A preeminent leader in the collegiate sports marketplace for 40 years, the company has titled the acclaimed Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup for five consecutive years. Learfield Sports manages the multimedia rights for more than 50 collegiate institutions, conferences and associations, and is deeply integrated in collegiate ticket sales. The company’s multimedia rights encompass numerous content distribution platforms to deliver the passion of college athletics across radio, television and digital networks to fans globally. Today, Learfield Sports’ exclusive sports programming reaches more than 50 million television households nationally and delivers nearly 17,000 hours of radio programming on more than 1,000 radio stations. To learn more its history and collegiate portfolio, visit

Comments are closed.