Sunday, October 17th, 2021

Final 2018-19 Division I Learfield IMG College Directors’ Cup Standings

CLEVELAND (June 28, 2019) – The Stanford Cardinal secured its 25th overall Learfield IMG College Directors’ Cup back on June 12 and finished 2018-19 with 1567.75 total points after the College World Series.

2018-19 DI FINAL
The Cardinal scored in 18 of 19 possible sports, led by six national championships, four on the women’s side (volleyball, swimming, tennis, water polo) and two men’s titles (gymnastics, golf). The following women’s scores were omitted for the Cardinal – softball, lacrosse, indoor track and field and gymnastics. On the men’s side, wrestling, swimming and football were removed from the overall total, while fencing was not counted. The Michigan Wolverines closed 2018-19 with a runner-up performance at the College World Series, to finish with 1272.25 total points and secure second-place. This is the second time Michigan finished second overall in the final standings, with its first time being in 2002-03. Overall, Michigan scored in 18 of 19 sports with 13 top-10 finishes on the year. Four scores were removed for the Wolverines – men’s soccer and both indoor and outdoor track and field, and women’s indoor track and field. Florida finished in third with 1156.75 total points, also scoring in 18 of 19 overall sports, including a national championship in men’s indoor track and field. This is the 19th time the Gators have finished in the top-five of the standings. For the eighth time in the Directors’ Cup history, the Longhorns of Texas have recorded a top-five showing in the final standings, finishing in fourth with 1148.50 total points, scoring in 17 of 19 total sports with one score omitted – women’s soccer. The Longhorns recorded a national championship in men’s tennis and had a trio of runner-up finishes (men’s swimming, men’s golf and women’s rowing). USC finished fifth overall with 1075.75 total points, scoring in 16 of 19 total sports. The Trojans were spearheaded by a national championship in men’s water polo and four runner-up finishes on the women’s side – indoor track and field, beach volleyball, outdoor track and field and water polo.

Click here for a listing of the top-five institutions and their spring national championship finishes. Omitted spring scores in bold.

Women’s: Beach Volleyball (NC) – UCLA; Golf – Duke; Lacrosse – Maryland; Rowing – Washington; Softball – UCLA; Tennis – Stanford; Track & Field – Texas Tech; Water Polo (NC) – Stanford
Men’s: Baseball – Vanderbilt; Golf – Stanford; Lacrosse – Virginia; Tennis – Texas; Track & Field – Texas Tech; Volleyball (NC) – Long Beach State
*NC = National Collegiate

At the conference level, the ACC led all Division I conferences with four institutions each in the top-10 – Florida State (7th), Virginia (8th), Duke (9th) and North Carolina (10th).

The 2019-20 Division I Learfield IMG College Directors’ Cup will begin in the fall.

Please note the name change to the Learfield IMG College Directors’ Cup following the merger between Learfield and IMG College.

The Learfield IMG College Directors’ Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution’s finish in NCAA Championships.

Complete standings and the scoring structure can be found on NACDA’s website at In addition, please visit and follow us on Twitter @ldirectorscup.

About Learfield IMG College: Learfield IMG College unlocks the value of college sports for brands, fans and universities through the representation of collegiate institutions, conferences and arenas. As a fully integrated sports marketing and solutions platform, Learfield IMG College provides access to licensing and multimedia sponsorship management, including publishing, radio, digital and social media; fan engagement, ticket sales and professional concessions expertise; branding; campus-wide business and sponsorship development; and venue technology systems. The company has long had the privilege of being an advocate for intercollegiate athletics, and since 2008, has served as title sponsor of the acclaimed Directors’ Cup.

Comments are closed.